Passenger Seat

by Aenro Mikko M. Gubatina
Story inspired by the song of the same title

His watch moves so heavy that it feels like millennium for it to turn.  As the clock strikes 5, his heart pounds as he waits for her.  Sitting on the step of their porch, he wipes his forehead hesitantly as perspiration started to race down to his cheeks.

The time has come…. the picket white door creeks as it opens slowly as it can. A shadow from the inside of the house keeps on swallowing the entering light from the outside. He stood up swiftly and waits for the door to let him see her face. The darkness of the room succumbed as she steps out while the crawling sunset light shimmers to her chucks up to the curves of her legs.

Nervously when waiting… staring at her… not knowing what to do or say, kept his posture at hand. The beautiful girl he only glanced at is looking at him straight in the eyes like she was an angel with daring lips that carved a smile so sweet that all men would wish to see and a body of a lady at the same delicate as a young lass.

She walks so smooth like she was gliding softly as the door behind her closes. The young man walk up the porch’s steps gradually as she looks at him with angelic eyes and Hellenic smile making him forget who he was at the moment. The boy said Hello with deep voice as he bite his lips and clenched his fist for his heart is filled with pure over-wrought. She smiled again and asked shyly “How do I look?” “You never changed” he answered with a grin, “perfect…” he added. Then he holds her hand tightly but delicately like handling a fragile glass while he guides her down the steps through the path until they reached his idling car. He opened the door for her; she chuckled softly and thanks him then sat down on his car’s passenger seat.

I look at her and have to smile
As we go driving for a while
Her hair blowing in the open window of my car
And as we go I see the lights
I watch them glimmer in her eyes
In the darkness of the evening

And I’ve got all that I need
Right here in the passenger seat
Oh and I can’t keep my eyes on the road
Knowing that she’s inches from me

We stop to get something to drink
My mind pounds and I can’t think
Scared to death to say I love her
Then a moon peeks from the clouds
Hear my heart that beats so loud
Trying to tell her simply

That I’ve got all that I need
Right here in the passenger seat
Oh I can’t keep my eyes on the road
Knowing that she’s inches from me

Oh and I’ve got all that I need
Right here in the passenger seat
Oh and I can’t keep my eyes on the road
Knowing that she’s inches from me

Oh and I know
That this love grows

Oh I’ve got all that I need
Right here in the passenger seat
Oh and I can’t keep my eyes on the road
Knowing that she’s inches from me

And I’ve got all that I need
Right here in the passenger seat
Oh and I can’t keep my eyes on the road
Knowing that she’s inches from me
(2nd voice)
I look at her and have to smile
As we go driving for a while
Her hair blowing in the open window of my car
And as we go I see the lights
I watch them glimmer in her eyes
In the darkness of the evening

And I’ve got all that I need
Right here in the passenger seat
Oh and I can’t keep my eyes on the road
Knowing that she’s inches from me
(2nd voice)
I look at her and have to smile
As we go driving for a while
Her hair blowing in the open window of my car
And as we go I see the lights
I watch them glimmer in her eyes
In the darkness of the evening

And I’ve got all that I need
Right here in the passenger seat
(2nd voice)
I look at her and have to smile
As we go driving for a while

References

Passenger Seat by Stephen Speaks Lyric Video:

Metrolyrics- Passenger Seat Lyrics:

Follow the conversation of this post on Facebook as shared by Teacher Rom Cumagun.

5 thoughts on “Passenger Seat

Leave a Reply

