The Time Traveller: Sci-Fi Movie Poster (Artwork)

Sample poster of a false fiction movie inspired by time travel. Artwork by Edrian Baydo, 3AD-7.

Poster of a false movie inspired from fictional time travel. Artwork by Edrian Baydo, 3AD-7. Manually digital painted in Photoshop using Wacom Intuos Manga.

 

Is there such a thing as time travel? Can we really turn back the hands of time, and correct what has been done? Can we go into the future, and see the things which are not even existing yet? What if every action, every moment of our existence living in false time, creates various repercussions in the physical plane? What if our universe hangs in the balance through the fabric of space-time, and by breaking the laws of nature, we are tearing realities apart? What if time is a product of the mind, and nothing more?

This is something which I came up just yesterday, a project which revolves around the genre of science fiction and time travel. Basically it’s a poster for a false movie I invented. The main character there is supposed to be a time traveller. He wields a futuristic super-advanced watch which enables its user to travel back and forth in time.

The story behind it, simply, was all of a sudden I became interested in portraying science fiction and time travel in movies, games and books. So I decided I would create an artwork which, I thought, would be blog worthy in Sir Cumagun’s blog site. I thought about it as I started to slowly picture out and materialize this small idea of mine, after which I began with the main production. I actually started by drafting a poem about time travel, which I thought was kind of disappointing to read, so instead I ended up making a mock up movie poster. In the process of creating the artwork I thought of the T.V. programs I used to watch in History Channel, “Ancient Aliens” for instance. There were episodes wherein the researchers there would insist that ancient people like the Mayans and Egyptians were capable of space travel, and eventually even time travel. That is why the physical structure of the character in this poster is inspired by Mayan and alien designs. In actual that would be the armor of the main character, who would probably be a human being. Also if you can see there in the poster, there is a quote above which goes:

“If man would try but never fail,

and wake each day but never late,

Then man would never dream of such a thing

as going back time to start again.”

This quote was originally part of the poem I made. I decided to use it there because that’s the best stanza among the five I’ve written. Plus I like how I wrote it, simple as it is. Moving on, after finishing painting whole image (which took me more or less a long 5 hour work in digital painting, counting the procrastination time I had throughout the process) I filled in the copy text and visual effects for the title and background. I used a glowing effect for the font, and added a lens flare effect for a mystical feel. Now it kind of looks like a magic and science fiction movie poster, although I think it’s still pretty decent and fitting for the genre. After a few sprinkles of photo enhancement I finally finished this little piece of artwork. I named it, “The Time Traveller”, well, basically because it is a time traveller. So yeah, I hope this artwork would be enough to satiate my sudden interest in science fiction, and I hope I learned a lot in the process of making it. I hope this image brings inspiration to the curious and playful mind; that science can be twisted and played around in fictional fantasy, and perhaps even in reality sometime soon. This is fiction, based on theoretical science.

 

7 thoughts on “The Time Traveller: Sci-Fi Movie Poster (Artwork)

Leave a comment